Overposting binge hidden below. Updated with a really creepy video.

Newt Gingrich:

There should be no mosque near Ground Zero in New York so long as there are no churches or synagogues in Saudi Arabia. The time for double standards that allow Islamists to behave aggressively toward us while they demand our weakness and submission is over.

Yglesias says several true things about this here. I want to highlight an obvious but sad irony: many US Muslims are immigrants who came to the US for all sorts of reasons including greater liberty than in the countries they chose to leave. Imagine, just for a moment, how this sounds.

“We want to expand our masjid.”
“Not until Saudi Arabia…”
“That’s why I left there and came here. Asshole.”

or

“I’m actually from Pakistan. That’s a totally different country. Asshole.”

or even

“I was born in Brooklyn, wtf does this have to do with Saudi Arabia? Asshole.”

A true idea man! I know he’s just posturing, but could we get a slightly less idiotic pose?

Update: Oy, check this out. “The audacity of jihad,” an ad by the National Republican Trust PAC. I’m starting to get a little bit worried.