An increasingly desperate John McCain, with the rationale for his candidacy crumbling around him, has this to say:

This is a clear choice that the American people have. I had the courage and the judgment to say I would rather lose a political campaign than lose a war. It seems to me that Obama would rather lose a war in order to win a political campaign.

Joe Klein, well known for a radical agenda that sits far to the left of Noam Chomsky’s, notes: “This is the ninth presidential campaign I’ve covered. I can’t remember a more scurrilous statement by a major party candidate.” Klein’s observation raises an interesting question: is there recent precedent for a major-party candidate for the presidency suggesting that his opponent wants to lose a war? I’m guessing there must be. But nothing leaps to mind.

Via publius at ObWi. And thanks to Eric for the graphic.