I was talking about this fantastic bit of parenting with a friend recently:

Notoriously, [Auberon Waugh] claimed that [his father] Evelyn [Waugh], after the war, had made all his children sit round and watch while he scoffed their banana rations with cream and sugar.

[Auberon’s son] Alexander believes that the banana story was true: “He was a very greedy little boy, and he definitely would have remembered the bananas and he definitely would have resented them. But my point in the book is that you cannot trust the testimony of a very greedy jam tart thief, who would rather have a jam tart than meet his father.”

(More.)

And it came out that someone we knew didn’t know that Evelyn Waugh was a man. Shameful! But then again I was in graduate school before I realized that L.A. Paul is a man, so I’m not one to talk. Hilary Putnam, too.

Did you know Evelyn Waugh’s first wife’s name was also Evelyn? Their friends called them He-Evelyn and She-Evelyn. Cute!