The Detroit airport is the weirdest one I pass through regularly. There’s the cool fountain and the irritating but points-for-trying tunnel of light– and, it turns out, a chapel, or, as it’s called, a “religious reflection room,” which I found via this interesting post.

I’m trying not to be totally weak with the salat, it being Ramadan and all, and it was time for maghrib and I had a long layover anyway, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

Hard to find! The hallway leading to the elevator leading to the room is small and hidden right next to a women’s bathroom. No, I’m not a pervert, just a religious extremist. I’m sure the guards were amused.

RRR_sign

Not just anyone is allowed!

I have authorization....<i>from Allah subhana wa ta'alla!</i>

I have authorization....from Allah subhana wa ta'alla!

Plus, they will fuck your shit up:

They're not kidding.  They will take that badge away, my friends.

They're not kidding. They will take that badge away, my friends.

And after that, maybe the least inspiring room in the world.

Helpfully, there's a compass on the carpet.

Helpfully, there's a compass on the carpet.

I’m not sure why there isn’t an arrow indicating qibla. It’s an airport, after all, and travelers might not know exactly the compass point for Detroit. (Blackberry to the rescue! It’s due northeast.) And not to be ungrateful but the carpet is nasty. I don’t know what other religious traditions have been up to, but it seems to involve a lot of spilled soda and snack crumbs. On the other hand it beats making salat in the terminal, which is sure to lead to a lot of new and opinionated friends.